Over 550 book reviews with full author links

19 February 2012

Peter Watt: Shadow of the Osprey

Click to see in Amazon
Another great book in Peter Watt's outstanding Frontier Series
This book is the second book in the outstanding Frontier Series by Australian author Peter Watt that follows the Macintosh and Duffy families from the 19th to the 20th Century. The saga continues the results of a terrible Aboriginal curse on the Duffy and Macintosh families after the the violent and barbaric dispersal of the Nerambura tribe in 1862.

Shadow of the Osprey follows the fortunes of these families from the boardrooms and back streets of Sydney to beyond the rugged Queensland frontier and the dangerous waters of the Coral Sea. The end of the 19th Century is a time of sudden wealth for a fortunate few who grub gold from the Palmer River in the harsh and unforgiving Queensland Outback. The fierce Aboriginal warriors resist the invaders in a bloody guerrilla war, impacting  the lives of these families.

Peter Watt is one of my favourite Australian authors who mostly writes historical adventures set in Australia and Papua. I have read (and really enjoyed) most of his books. On his website Peter describes his approach as "putting a human face" on the history of Australia and Papua. He has been described in many places as Australia's Wilbur Smith.

I would recommend all of Peter Watt's books, especially those in the Frontier Series and the Papua Trilogy (his latest book "The Pacific" was released in December 2011). I suggest you start reading the first books in both series (Cry of the Curlew is the first in the Frontier Series) - I am sure you will then be keen to read the later books.

No comments:

Post a Comment