Over 550 book reviews with full author links

19 February 2012

Peter Watt: Flight of the Eagle

Click to see in Amazon
Another great book in Peter Watt's outstanding Frontier Series
Flight of the Eagle is the third book in the outstanding Frontier Series by Peter Watt that follows the Macintosh and Duffy families from the 19th to the 20th Century. The dreadful Aboriginal curse which haunts two families, inextricably links them together in love, death and revenge.

Captain Patrick Duffy, the son Irish Catholic soldier of fortune Michael Duffy, is tracking down his Irish ancestors and meets the mysterious and beautiful Catherine Fitzgerald.  Back in Australia Peter Duffy, working on the Queensland frontier as a Native Mounted Police trooper, is torn between his duty, and the blood of his mother's people - the Nerambura tribe.

Peter Watt is one of my favourite Australian authors who mostly writes historical adventures set in Australia and Papua. I have read and enjoyed most if not all of his books. On his website Peter describes his approach as "putting a human face" on the history of Australia and Papua. He has been described in many places as Australia's Wilbur Smith.

I would recommend all of Peter Watt's books, especially those in the Frontier Series and the Papua Trilogy. I suggest you start reading the first books in both series (Cry of the Curlew is the first in the Frontier Series) - I am sure you will then be keen to read the later books.

No comments:

Post a Comment